Page 17 - 2021CalSpeedMagazinejune
P. 17

      TROUND 6 - JUNE 12
he second half of the CalSpeed Super Series 2021 season continued in the reverse direction, and round #6 took to the Grande CCW layout to finish out the month
of June in sport karting. The front of the field would be a mix of usual suspects and some new faces, and we were treated to another fantastic race for the win, with talk around the paddock starting to edge towards how the points stack up...
Andres Prieto made 2 in a row for pole positions on the longest of the counterclockwise layouts, scoring a convincing fast time to claim the first starting spot for Heat 1A. He would be joined in the top three bonus point positions by Sprint Series standouts Michael Martin in 2nd, and Carl Zhu in 3rd. Of the three, however; only Prieto would capitalize on his favorable starting position by scoring a Heat race win, as overall hardware contenders Ayrton Demoss and Michael Hazlewood claimed those wins in the first set of Heats. Joining the trio would be some different faces at the front in the second set of three heats, as Kiron Chakraborty continued his break out season with a dub, Donnie Clarke took down his first Heat win of the season, and Heather Perrin scored her first career Heat race win as well. Overall, it would be Andres Prieto leading the field away for the A-Main, adding a P4 in his second Heat to his Heat 1 win and pole position in qualy...
Jenna Chin would lead the field away for the first main of the day, and immediately got out to a near 1 second lead over P2 Shelby Blecker on lap 1. Unfortunately, a mistake through the Short Beach corner would spell the end of her chances, as she plowed into the exit barrier at the start of lap 2, handing over the top spot to Blecker. Shelby would continue to lead the first half of the race, but would be challenged at the halfway point by young Joey Andrews. Andrews worked his way up from just inside the top 5 to take over the top spot on lap 7, and would hold on to eventually score his first win by a comfortable margin as the rest of the field battled behind him.
Unlike the B-Main, the A-Main would be a pretty straightforward affair, as long time sport karter Nick Marascio would take over the lead from the P2 starting spot on lap 1, and go unchallenged for the 12 lap affair. A good part of why he was unchallenged, as the battle royal that ensued behind him for p2 starting immediately, helped produce a gap that would never be bridge. For their parts, James Lieser and Tony Wika would break away from the rest of the pack, but while they were as fast or faster than Marascio, it would not be enough to eat up the deficit, making for a just over 1 second win for Nick at the checkers, with Wika 2nd and Lieser 3rd.
Andres Prieto would be joined by Super Series rookie Michael Martin on the front row for the start of the A-Main, with the latter having some difficulty in his very first attempt. Because of that, the inside row would have the advantage heading into Short Beach for the very first time, but it would not be Prieto with the lead at the end of lap 1. Instead, Sean Fite would claim the top
A Main Podium
 B-Main Nick Marascio
 C-Main Winner Joey Andrews

   15   16   17   18   19